Tags

, , , , , ,

khs ljh

Thriller is one of my favorite genres and hence, it’s really surprising that I have seen such a small number of K-dramas coming under it. Many do catch my eye before their launch but due to one reason or the other, I either dropped the drama or the idea of watching it. Heh.

Anyway, the upcoming tvN thriller Signal has again made me excited due to its cast and premise. The show has confirmed quite an A-list cast with Kim Hye Soo, Lee Je Hoon and Jo Jin Woong headlining it. These actors usually do movies and their last small screen works include God of the Workplace (which received fine ratings domestically but didn’t generate much buzz among international fans), Secret Door (which was a disappointment in all respects) and Full Sun (also a flop) respectively. I have seen only Lee Je Hoon previously and that too for a few episodes of Fashion King but that was enough to make me look forward to his other projects. If you are a Korean movie buff, I’m sure you must have seen these actors in many more films that I don’t know about.

Signal is a story about two detectives who are separated by time. Lee Je Hoon plays the present day detective who solves a case with the help of Jo Jin Woong, who plays the detective from the past. They communicate through an old walkie talkie. The premise sounds a lot like Hollywood film Frequency. It is intriguing, mixing fantasy and suspense. Kim Hye Soo will also play another detective of the present. The plot looks promising to provide edge-of-your-seats feels.

Another feather in the cap of this production is the fact that Signal is being helmed by the PD of Misaeng (no need to repeat how awesome it was…LOL). It’s penned by the screenwriter of thrillers Three Days, Ghost and Sign — not too excited on this front as Three Days was really boring for me and I dropped it very soon.

Signal is slated to start next year in January on tvN as a follow-up drama to Answer Me 1988.

jjw

