Tags

, , , , , , ,

wry151

School 2013 was one of my most favourite shows of that year. It was filled with poignancy and touching moments. The characters made you smile, laugh and cry with them. Not to mention the epic bromance, not only between Lee Jong Suk and Kim Woo Bin, but also between the trio of bullies. I did have one complaint in that show, which was the absence of importance given to female students. I guess KBS heard my complaint because it is bringing the next installment of the School franchise with a girl as the main character. Kim So Hyun (Girl Who Sees Smells, I Hear Your Voice), who has made quite a name as talented child actress and teenage counterpart of the heroine in many shows, will take up her first leading role. She is joined by Yook Sung Jae (Plus Nine Boys) and Nam Joo Jyuk (Surplus Princess). The story takes mystery genre at its centre as Kim So hyun plays double role of twins whose fate gets interchanged. One of them mysteriously disappears one day while the other gets transferred to new school. Yook Sung Jae plays bad boy while Nam Joo Hyuk is up for a warm kid with cold outward nature (do we really have any other types?). Lee Pil Mo will play the teacher (I loved the teachers, Jang Nara and Daniel Choi in the predecessor) and from the warm and considerate Lee Pil Mo I saw in Pinocchio, I’m sure I’ll love him here as well. Those of you who are new to the series of School, it first started in 1999 and has spawned a total of 5 shows, each portraying realistic issues of students. The dramas also get credit for acting as one of the first platforms of acting for now-famous stars like Jo In Sung, Ha Ji Won, Kim Rae Won, Bae Doo Na, etc. The filmy element of mystery and twins has me worried about this show as what i expect of this series is to give me something close to life. And oh, I forgot to mention the title, which is Who Are You — School 2015. Even the name sounds so dramatic! I’m on the fence with this one, that’s for sure. The drama starts from April 27, taking up the Monday-Tuesday slot from Blood, which sadly did not manage to gain good ratings.

wry152 wry15

