Tags

, , , ,

ajh ghs

KBS is struggling from a few weeks to lock down the cast for its upcoming medical fantasy drama Blood with lead roles floating from Jung Il Woo to Yoo Yeon Seok and finally it has succeeded in confirming the main leads in Ahn Jae Hyun and Gu Hye Sun. Now this is one pair I would never have expected (points for surprise!) and now this out-of-left-field casting has increased my interest in the show. Ji Jin Hee (One Warm Word) has already been cast along with Kwon Hyun Sang, who I remember played one of the South Korean contestants in The King 2 Hearts along with Lee Seung Gi and Ha Ji Won in WOC.

I found Ahn Jae Hyun really cute in the latter half of You From Another Star (he played Jeon Ji Hyun‘s younger brother) after remaining indifferent to him in initial episodes. He later starred in You’re All Surrounded and movie Fashion King. But I think it’s way too early for him to lead a drama as a hero. He hasn’t even played any proper second leads yet. I wonder what compelled the network to cast him as main lead. Anyway, I’ve only seen Gu Hye Sun in Boys Before Flowers and  I wasn’t impressed by her much but her last drama Angel Eyes did wonders to improve her image in my mind, I liked her a lot in whatever stills and teasers I saw of that melo romance and that makes me hopeful that I might like her here. I never imagined these two together and that makes me eager to find out the end result of this.

That said, I do find the plot intriguing. Our hero plays a vampire and a doctor (yeah, that should not come in the same line for the same person) who is cold on the outside but actually has a warm heart and desires closeness with other people. He is a firm believer of human life and hence, suppresses his urge to suck their blood. Thus all he wants is to save lives. Gu Hye Sun will star as a genius physician (yay that for once we have a heroine as a geniuuuuuus) who is the niece of the rich man who owns the hospital (oh I’m loving this role reversal!). She is bold and bossy.

Ji Jin hee plays the main villain who is all good guy on the outside but is dangerously ambitious in reality. Finally, Kwon Hyun Sang has taken on the role of a bad vampire. I actually think the show has a nice set-up for some thrills, excitement and fun attached with all vampire-y stuff. Also, Blood comes from the team behind Good Doctor (the PD has also directed Ojakgyo Brothers and That Fool while the writer wrote God’s Quiz franchise), which was a hit and loved by many even if I skipped it.

Blood will hit the airwaves from February following Healer which starts this coming Monday.

jjh khs

