Tags

, , ,

krwkaj

Two of the earliest K-actors that I came to know about are going to star together in a drama. Apparently it was movies that brought me to this landscape of K-entertainment but now I’m more or less a total drama fan and rarely watch K-movies. Kim Rae Won was my first crush here, thanks to his warm and swoon-worthy turn in My Little Bride and Kim Ah Joong was great in 200 Pounds Beauty — and now they have confirmed to act in upcoming legal drama Punch. To be honest, I’m not too overwhelmed by this news because I was hoping to see Kim Rae Won in something light and fun in his next small screen venture but alas, I’ll be contended that he is finally returning to dramaland after 3 years. His latest gangster movie Gangnam 1970 with Lee Min Ho is all set to release in early 2015. Love him and he might be the sole reason for me to check this drama out. Kim Ah Joong is also doing her first drama in three years — they both starred in Thousand Days’ Promise and Sign, respectively.

Punch is basically a political-legal thriller about a prosecutor who has only 6 months to live due to terminal illness and so he changes his ways of life and he decides to throw a final punch at the world by taking down all the corrupt people with him. Kim Ah Joong will play another prosecutor who fights for justice. Also starring is Jo Jae Hyun (Scandal) as a public prosecutor general who is a good person in the eyes of the world but is actually a corrupt person who is involved in lots of illegal activities. Well, this year has surely given us some shows set in the world of law but none was satisfactory. I really hope that this drama will give us a nice face-to-face scenario as the two men fight against each other. It is also promising because Punch is penned by the writer of highly acclaimed quality dramas like The Chaser and Empire Of Gold. The PD directed Fashion King...which almost can make me avoid a show but let’s not jump onto conclusions yet. Be positive!

Punch will follow sageuk Secret Door on SBS and is thus slated for a Monday-Tuesday slot.

