Tags

, , , , ,

 photo h_zpsc6239b2f.jpeg You know what, Heirs reminds me of the teenage portion of every romantic melodrama out there, incorporating all staples of it: the separation, heaviness and seriousness and that’s where its flaw lies: with scads of young actors, it could have been such an energetic, tender, jubilant rom-com but it looks overemotional as the protagonists here are teenagers and the issues surrounding them are loads of. This is the complaint I have with the drama but other than that, I’ve enjoyed each of its episode and never got bored. It’s the untapped potential of characters and actors that irks me. I love the main couple and thankfully, they get most of the screen time so I enjoy the show in each of its frame. Other than these two, I simply love their moms and Kang Ha Neul‘s Hyo Shin and his scenes with Tan are a delight. And add Bo Na and Chan Young as the cutest couple, and I get lots of goodies from Heirs. I like Kim Woo Bin a lot but Young Do is a character which I think should have got something else rather than adding him in the love triangle as it’s weak. Tan and Eun Sang already are in love and have spent meaningful, bickering, romantic and sad moments together and no way it can be equivalent to whatever happens between Eun Sang and YD. I did feel that YD was pitiful when he talked about being lonely and his scars. Hopefully, he and Tan will be friends again and please let him have a love line with Rachel!

Last week, especially episode 12 was really good and Lee Min Ho was superb with his eyes speaking thousand words. Tan got his moment to shine as he stood for what he is and revealed his status of being illegitimate. I liked how he held his mom’s hand throughout that scene. I’m happy that we are finally getting out of the useless tug of war over a girl and (hopefully) moving onto other plot lines. And yes, the surprise ingredient was the beauty of that scene between Tan and Hyun Joo. Loved it. Plus, the last scene with our couple mirroring their emotions was very well done.

The much awaited preview for episodes 13 and 14 is out for Heirs and I’m glad that the cuteness is back between the OTP. I hope it goes on and on as these two are at their best when they don’t worry about the divide and all. It looks like they will be staying together somewhere (Eeeeeee!!!) and Tan’s dad is again doing something annoying to send ourย heroine abroad (meh).

