Tags

, , , , , ,

iu

The final cast for upcoming manhwa-based rom-com Pretty Man has been signed on with IU taking the main lead role along with Han Chae Young and Lee Jang Woo starring in important roles. The show had already secured Jang Geun Suk as the main lead a few months back. I’m finding this cast appealing.

Pretty Man surely has a bit of a weird story line and somewhat unclear with Jang Geun Suk playing a beautiful man who dates ten women when he is sent on this mission by Han Chae Young‘s character. Lee Jang Woo is a man with a pretty heart and 4D persona while IU is the main female lead and plays an average, ordinary girl who is in love with our pretty man aka hero from ten long years since she met him in high school. You know what, I might be getting eccentric vibes from the plot (I mean, why date 10 women!) but the part of our heroine is the sole reason for my attraction to it as I have a great predilection for plots where a girl falls in love first. Also, even when I found You’re The Best Lee Soon Shin quite tedious, IU was impressive in it and in my opinion, she is one of the few idols who can act well. But isn’t it too hectic to do another drama right on the heels of a loooong weekend show. Han Chae Young appeared in Ad Genius Lee Tae Baek this year and I really found her scenes like watching paint dry. But I like her a lot and although she fits in this role of a goddess-like beauty, my preference will always be for her to play the funny and spirited heroines a la Delightful Girl Choon Hyang variety.

I loved Jang Geun Suk in You’re Beautiful who made that character of Hwang Tae Kyung truly memorable. I really hope that Pretty Man will be something that will give me the same feeling after watching it. The show is going to follow Secret and is written by the writer of The Gift of Room 7 and directed by PD of Tamra the Island. It starts from November 20th on KBS.

ljw hcy

